Home > Anglers Inn, Billy Chapman Jr, Lake El Salto, Mexico Bass Fishing, Mexico fishing > Summer, 2013 Bass Fishing Report from Lake El Salto

Summer, 2013 Bass Fishing Report from Lake El Salto

El Salto Bass




May, June and July are big fish months and this season was no exception. You heard about the 7lb average on a tournament of 36 anglers in the last Lake Report and this lake report and testimonials speak for themselves. The lake was low and the fish were bunched up and when you find them, it is game on!

Steve and his son Aaron proved that he can catch fish too, when one day he and his son Aaron caught 24 bass in the morning session from 5 to 8.4 pounds. That’s right, no fish less than 5 pounds! David Kohler had a 10.6 pounder and his fishing partner Norm McCallson had a bass over 9 pounds.

Walt & Alice Bodie, repeat visitors to Anglers Inn said “Fishing was excellent for big bass. On my best day, my heaviest five fish weighed 41.5 lbs. During the trip I took 12 fish in the eight pound range, one 9 1/2 lb fish and one 10 lb bass. I didn’t keep track of the seven-pound fish but I do remember catching five in one morning. I was using big fish baits so I didn’t catch many small fish. I was most successful with 8″ a watermelon seed lizard and 7″ Senkos in watermelon/black fleck. A few four to six-pound fish were caught on swim baits and crank baits but I didn’t spend much time with them. As usual, the staff and guides excelled at their jobs. It is that type of work ethic and the excellent food and accommodations that keeps bringing us back to El Salto.

Everyone caught awesome fish on the bait of their choice from top-water to spinner bait, from crank baits to senkos, from 10 & 12 inch blue/black Berkley Power Worms to 8-inch watermelon lizards and from the silver/blue back Rat’ L trap to the swim bait. It was clearly a matter of confidence each angler felt about a particular bait.

Logan Sebela went down to Lake El Salto for four days of fishing July 8-12. He reported: “The weather was hot but the fish were big. We did not catch as many as last time but the quality was up. We caught a total of 70 fish, very few under 4 lbs and lots of 5’s and 6’s, about 10 in the 7’s, and 3 in the 8’s. Highlight of the trip for me was catching a 6.3 and then an 8.3 on consecutive casts on a big Norman crankbait, my personal best. I managed to best that the next morning with a 7.10 and then an 8.10 a little while later on a Zarra salwater Super Spook. Two personal bests in two days is always fun. Had a great time with my buddy Mike, excellent guiding from Lacho, and outstanding service from Anglers Inn!”.

Ric Grover caught two 10+ pound bass in back to back casts. He said “the back to back 10’s were on the Trashfish swimbait. Other great baits were the Evergreen 480 Combat crank, the Zoom lizard and the Skinny Dipper swimbait. I caught 5 over 10 and my buddy Kevin Gross got an 11.86”.

I want to take a moment to thank our sponsors Abu Garcia and Berkley. Having their products available at the lodge has huge benefits for anglers. Folks loved the Abu Garcia Veritas Rods and Revo Reels that are now available at the lodge. Both bait casters and spinning rods are available for your convenience.

I encourage you to join me Oct 1-5, 2103 for a 4 night/3 & ½ Day Opening Season Special for $1565/angler!

Anglers Inn El Salto

Mexico Bass Adventures

(541) 296-3962

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment